Oscar nominations-2011

So, the Oscar-2011 nominations are announced.

Surprisingly, so far I have only seen one of the ten Best Picture nominees, namely Inception, which I enjoyed because I love mind-twisters and films with “space for interpretation”. However, I’m not sure mind-twisting and space for interpretation are enough to bring Inception the Best Picture title. Speaking of which, I really think the Academy’s failure to nominate Christopher Nolan for Best Director is a mistake – this he did deserve and might have been able to win. Among other Best Picture contenders, I plan to see The Social Network, Black Swan, The Kids Are All Right, and The King’s Speech before the Oscars – the latter I wasn’t particularly attracted to, but with all the buzz around it, and especially with 12 Oscar nominations, I now want to see what it’s all about.

Having only seen one of the movies nominated as Best Picture, I’m not really in a position to make Oscar predictions right now. (Which will change after I see half of the contender movies.) I had seen last year’s Best Picture winner, The Hurt Locker, before the Oscars night, and, unlike many, I wasn’t surprised to see it win. Although the Academy’s 2010 decision did seem at least slightly political (I don’t think The Hurt Locker would have won with George W. Bush still in the White House), I do think  The Hurt Locker absolutely deserved to win over James Cameron’s Avatar – which, however adorable and revolutionary in its use of graphics, almost made me fall asleep during the protracted culmination fight scene with between the Good Guy and the indestructible Terminator-like Bad Guy. (I did appreciate the environmental message though.)

Best Picture nominations aside, I want to see Biutiful, which is nominated as Best Foreign-Language Film from Mexico, and whose Javier Bardem is nominated as Best Actor (which I have trouble understanding: don’t they normally only nominate actors from English-language movies for the main Oscar categories?). I hear Bardem plays a single dad/criminal in Biutiful, and the trailer is dramatic enough to make me interested.

The bottom line is, I need to see more movies before the Oscar night, which takes place on Sunday, February 27, and quick!

About Allantoin

A Fierce Russian's Perspective is a blog about the world as seen by a Russian immigrant (yours truly).
This entry was posted in movies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oscar nominations-2011

  1. Pingback: The King’s Speech and the Oscars « allantoin

Leave a Reply

